Japan on Tuesday warned citizens to avoid all travel to 48 countries including the United States, China, and South Korea amid the global coronavirus pandemic.

The Foreign Ministry raised its travel advisory for these areas to Level 3, bringing the total number of countries and territories at that classification to 73, or more than a third of the world.